By-election to RK Nagar, four other Assembly seats on Dec 21

Other parts of the country where assembly by-elections will be held on December 21 include Sikandra in Uttar Pradesh, Sabang in West Bengal, and Pakke-Kasang and Likabali in Arunachal Pradesh.

The EC's announcement came a day after the Madaras High Court directed the EC to hold by-election in RK Nagar by the end of the year.

By-elections to five state Assembly seats, including Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar (RK Nagar) Assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu, will be held on December 21, the Election Commission announced here on Friday. Last date for filing nominations will be December 4.

The vacancy for the constituency arose following the death of former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa on December 5 previous year. These two leaders had been in opposing splinter groups of the party the last time the by-election had been announced.

The Congress too declared that it would support the DMK candidate.

Sources said the party had chose to contest this election and the party's top brass in Delhi would be announcing the candidate within a few days.

With Panneerselvam and Palaniswami factions coming together and the Election Commission allotting the "two leaves" symbol and the party name to Panneerselvam/Madhusudhanan, AIADMK leaders told IANS there was no need to scout for another person in the place of Madhusudhanan.

For the April 12 bypoll, which was canceled subsequently, the AIADMK (Sasikala faction) had named T T V Dhinakaran as its candidate.

The Tamil Nadu BJP Chief Tamilisai Soundararajan said a decision to contest or not will be taken after consultations within the party.

The constituency came into prominence after Jayalalithaa chose to contest the seat in June 2015 after the Karnataka high court acquitted her in the disproportionate assets case.

  • Tracy Klein