New Nagaland CM assures to resolve Naga political issue soon

In the recently concluded Assembly elections, the ruling NPF won 26 seats.

Rio also reiterated his support for the ongoing Naga peace talks for an "honourable solution which is inclusive and acceptable to the people".

However, it would have no effect on government formation as the NDPP-BJP combine has 30 MLAs, besides the support of two others, in the 60-member House.

Taking about Rio, he will be taking an oath for the fourth term today as before this he has served as the Chief Minister for three times in the state between 2003 and 2014, making him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms.

More than 25,000 people, including workers of political parties, witnessed the oath-taking ceremony, official sources said. BJP's Y Patton was administered the oath as the Deputy Chief Minister by the governor.

The new Chief Minister said that the PDA will ensure good governance and draw a new roadmap for Nagaland's development under Prime Minister Narendra Modi's growth agenda.

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah and the partys general secretary Ram Madhav were among those present at the function.

The NDA also showed off its strength in the North East with four Chief Ministers, N Biren Singh, Pema Khandu, Sarbananda Sonowal, and newly sworn-in Conrad Sangma, all seated on the stage.

Nagaland Governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya and Neiphiu Rio at the swearing-in ceremony in Kohima. The independent candidate Tongpang Ozukum and JD (U)'s G Kaito Aye were also inducted into the new cabinet.

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), in alliance with the BJP, will take over the reins of the north-eastern state with the support of 32 MLAs.

The announcement was made by the BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma who stated that party has already formed a pre-poll alliance with NDPP and now they are going to form a government in the state with its ally party.

  • Tracy Klein